Coyote Men’s Golf Third at KCAC Championships

GARDEN CITY – Kansas Wesleyan earned a third-place finish at the 2022 KCAC Men’s Golf Championships held Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday at Buffalo Dunes.

The Coyotes also had three earned spots on the All-Tournament Team; two on All-KCAC teams; and seven have been named Men’s Golf Scholars by the KCAC.

Many changes have been made to the Men’s Golf Championship this season. The most notable change is the tournament format. Instead of having two rounds of the championship race as in previous seasons, the 72-hole championship was contested over three days.

Another change was the All-KCAC selections. Instead of being based on finishing in the KCAC championship race, conference coaches voted for All-KCAC teams prior to the conference championship.

Landon Berquist (SO/Lawrence, Kan.) led the graduating Coyotes to a tie for fourth with a 307 in 4 rounds. Trevor Watson (SO/Coffeyville, Kan.) tied for sixth with a tournament score of 309. . Ethan Vikander (SO/Aberdeen, SD) finished tied for 10th with a score of 311. The trio were named to the All-Tournament team for their Top 10 finishes in the tournament.

Matthew Freriks (JR/Stinnett, TX) tied for 19th with teammate Tyler Tarvin (FR/North Richland Hills, TX), both shooting 318 for the tournament. Cameron Becker (SR/Coffeyville, Kan.) finished 25th with a score of 323 and Trevor Oberg (JR/McCook, Neb.) tied for 26th with a score of 325.

KWU finished third with a team score of 1241 for the tournament. Sterling was the KCAC champion with a score of 1220, and Bethany was third with a 1226. Oklahoma Wesleyan was fourth behind the Coyotes with a 1267, followed by Southwestern at 1277, Friends at 1280, Ottawa at 1320, Tabor at 1323 , Bethel in 1332 and York in 1758.

Watson was selected to the All-KCAC First Team by conference coaches, and Vikander was selected to the All-KCAC Second Team. The All-KCAC teams were announced Monday by the conference office.

KWU also named seven All-KCAC scholarship athletes. The All-KCAC Scholar-Athlete Award recognizes classroom excellence by KCAC member student-athletes who are in the second year or higher in the academic standings at the start of the semester in which they compete, have a minimum 3,250 GPA cumulative at the start of the semester in which they compete, and must be on the Sports Eligibility Certificate and have attended a full year at the current KCAC institution to be eligible.

Landon Berquist, Trevor Watson, Trevor Oberg, Parker Norton (SO/Salina, Kan.), Cameron Becker, Ryan Lee (SO/Sugar Land, Texas), and Ethan Vikander were named Scholar-Athletes.

Source link

Comments are closed.