Coyote Athletics Hosts 2021-2022 Awards Ceremony | Sports

Cerro Coso hosted a modest in-person awards ceremony to recognize and celebrate the 2021-2022 athletic year and the winners on Wednesday, May 4, 2022 at the Gymnasium at Ridgecrest Campus.

Baseball Awards:

Dominic Lopez – Golden Glove second base – No. 28 infielder for the Coyotes

Danny Jimenez – Gold Glove First Base/2nd Team All-Conference – #13 Infielder

Brentt Olmo – 1st Team All-Conference – #27 Outfielder

Jaxon Holzem – 1st Team All-Conference – #17 Right Home Plate/Outfielder

Brooks Scott – Gold Glove Catcher/1st Team All-Conference – #2 Centerfield

Johnny McHenry – Gold Glove Shortstop / Big Bat Award / Conference MVP – #5 Infielder

Softball Awards:

Mattie Lane – Honorable Mention – #11

Emily Curtis – Honorable Mention – #16

Tawny Ford – 2nd Team All-Conference – #12

Kyla Collins – 1st All-Conference Team – #13

Four Coyote baseball players have signed letters of intent to play:

Johnny McHenry – California State University Northridge, Northridge, CA

Michael Doerr – Lindenwood University, St. Charles, Missouri

Trevor French – Union College, Barbourville, Kentucky

Carlos Soto – Union College, Barbourville, Kentucky

“The 2021-2022 academic year has been another year with a lot to celebrate for our athletes,” said athletic director John McHenry. “The last two years have been difficult. During their time with us, they went through a lot of changes, but they remained committed to their sports and their studies, and worked hard to succeed on the field as well as in the classroom.

“We are incredibly proud of our student-athletes,” said President Dr. Sean Hancock. “These athletes faced unique challenges, adapted to the changing times, and reached a high level in athletics and in their studies. You have represented Cerro Coso well in competition, in class and in the community. Congratulations on the well-deserved awards!

Source link

Comments are closed.